JSAniken Logs

Log: 18 Apr 2024

The Interactive Live - Arrange Medley (ILS30 Project) is finally complete!

I know, bit late to post about it here. But to be honest… I got a little burnt out. After all, I spent two years on the project. I realized I needed to take a break for myself, so I’ve spent the past two weeks mostly working on art for myself and myself only. Maybe once I feel comfortable with it I’ll post it on social media or something.

So, what’s next? Well, for one, I got an animation job at a studio in Tokyo! I’ll be starting at the end of May, which means I have less than a month to finish my first set of training AND move all my stuff. Wish me luck…

I also need to finish up the short film for my university. It’s coming along pretty well! Not quite as far as I hoped to be at this point but close enough. Hoping to be able to post that soon…

I’m also planning my move for next year’s Hirasawa birthday celebration. Depends on how busy I am plus how Hynon 2566 goes, but I’m hoping to get at least a short animation done again! Maybe even a game…? Who knows…

Anyways, back to the grind for me! Just gotta keep working. lol.

Log: 28 Feb 2024

It’s a leap year!

With this extra day I’ll be… doing what I usually do. Animating. I’m so close to being done with the ILS30 project. I’m on my last 3 cuts, and all that’s left of those is coloring. 137/140 completely done. It’s hard to believe but this long journey is finally coming to an end.

The short film for my university is coming along well too. I’m almost done with my rough animation parts and will probably be moving on to cleanup next week…

Speaking of university, I made some lip sync animations for my portfolio class. There’s in the Animation tab too but I’ll link it here as well.

…すみません、ここで日本語に切り替えさせていただきます。(地味に初めてですね、このブログで日本語を使うの。)

なんだか上記のアニメーションがツイッターでバズりました。今では一万いいね超えてしまいました。色々と嬉しいコメントもいただき喜んでいる反面、思いのほかの反応でびっくりしている自分もいます…平沢進が誰なのか知らない人からもどんどん反応が来て面白かったです。ごめんなさい、アニメやゲームのキャラじゃないんです。一応実在する人物です。多分。

今後もどんどん描いていくつもりですのでよろしくお願いします。でも就活もあるので…ちょっとペースが落ちるかもしれません…

Log: 18 Feb 2024

I’m 22 years old and I still have to look up how to spell February correctly.

Anyways, it’s now officially a month and a half away from the ILS30 project’s release! In fact, there will be a trailer coming on March 10, 2024 so stay tuned for that. It’s insane to think that there’s 138 cuts overall and there’s only 12 more cuts that need to be completed (14 including 2 cuts that need minor adjustments). The end is near!

In other exciting news, I’m directing a short film for a class at my university! I’ve got an amazing team working with me, and we’ve already made significant progress. That film should be wrapping up in late April/ early May, although it may be a little longer until I can post it publicly.

With all of these projects wrapping up soon, I have to think about the next steps in my life. Obviously getting a job is a high priority, but that’s not as fun to think about as some new projects! Another animation? Or perhaps exploring more gamedev stuff? So many choices…

Side note, I’m gonna be paying around with the layout of this website for a bit. I want to make it look a little more professional without losing the charm of an individual website. This is technically my portfolio website too, after all.

p.s. Been taking more walks lately since it's gotten a little warmer. I can't wait for the days to get longer so I can take longer walks. I miss summer.

picture of under a bridge - feb 2024

Log: 01 Jan 2024

Happy New Year everyone! I can’t believe it’s 2024 already… I’ve had big plans for this year for a while now (namely graduating college and the ILS30 project), so it’s wild to think that it’s finally here. In celebration I decided to change around some stuff on this website.

I’ll admit, I haven’t been keeping up with my website as much as I wish I did… I’ve been very busy with making animations! Luckily with winter break I’ve been able to focus a lot on the ILS30 project… so much so that I’m actually ahead of schedule! Can’t wait to be done with that.

Once the semester starts I’ll be animating a lot more non-old man stuff as well. Hopefully. I better. I need more non old man stuff for my portfolio… God wish me luck with trying to get a job this year.

Anyways have a low quality image of some doodles I did.

little sketches - jan 2024