JSAniken Logs

Log: 27 Nov 2023

Oh boy, over a month since I last updated… I’m finally feeling a little more mentally stable so here I am.

I’ve been keeping pretty busy as of late! This month I participated in my university’s animation jam. For the one week jam I participated with Fred, a friend from a different uni. It was a lot of fun! Even if we didn’t win, I'm proud of the result. I posted the links in the Animation tab but I’ll put the links here as well.

I’ve also been making some significant progress on ILS30. Less than a quarter of the work left! Well, in theory at least… I’m gonna go back and redo some of the shots I didn’t like as much. Winter break is coming up in a week so once that’s here I can’t wait to put all of my attention into animating! … Once I clean my room, of course.

my workplace - nov 2023

Log: 11 Oct 2023

Hey gamers!

Fall break is over now and I was able to make a LOT of progress. I’ve been feeling a lot better physically lately so I could focus on my project! I’m now officially 3/4 of the way done with ILS30. This means I am ahead of schedule! I’m currently working on a part that I thought would take much longer but I’m making good progress there too… which means I’ll hopefully have time later to rework the parts I don’t like and maybe work on some additional projects.

Speaking of additional projects, I got accepted into working on a student project from another university! The style is pretty different from my usual cup of tea, both in terms of art and story, but I am hyped to work on it. Doing the style tests is difficult, but hopefully once I am past this stage I can get onto the fun of animating it.

I need to start thinking about what I’m gonna do class-wise for next semester. It’s my last semester so there’s a lot of self-paced project classes… Can’t believe I’m almost graduating. I really don’t want to think about job applications after my last attempt went poorly.

Log: 27 Sep 2023

It’s been a hot minute since I’ve updated here!

The Hybrid Phonon 2566 show was amazing. It far surpassed my expectations… Great set list (was not expecting Monster A Go Go!), good looking outfit (for once), entertaining performance from the Ejin… overall a fun experience. Hirasawa casually saying that the guitar album was done during the last MC was a surprise. Gives me something to look forward to now that this show is over.

Now, back to production. 2566 threw me off schedule but I’m back on track! Finished all the storyboarding I wanted to do this month and I’m finally getting back into 2D animation. Not touching Toon Boom for around 4 months has made me rusty but I think I’m getting back into it. Trying to do a more painterly-style drawing for another section has been a struggle too. Might have to ask someone for assistance on that.

Next week I’ll have fall break which means 4 full days I can hopefully dedicate to this project. Might do a challenge where I go offline for the large part of those 4 days so I can FOCUS. Twitter is such a distraction!

my workplace - sep 2023

Log: 30 Aug 2023

Well, August is coming to an end! School has started but it hasn’t been too stressful… I’m finally getting some time to make progress on my personal projects.

Speaking of, I’m at the halfway point of the ILS30 project! While there are some parts I’m not too satisfied with, at this point I can’t keep looking back. This project needs to be done by March, so I gotta keep going forward! Currently struggling with storyboards because I’m always struggling with storyboards. Once those are out of the way things should go much smoother.

Things are going better than the last update. Hopefully I can keep this motivation up!

my workplace - aug 2023

P.S. Hybrid Phonon 2566 is next week!!! First show in a while so I’m pretty excited.

Log: 16 Aug 2023

Things have been rough the past few days. I didn't get as far as I wanted over summer break and now classes have started... Luckily I'm not taking too many classes this semster so I should be able to bounce back and finish what I want to this month. Quitting work is stressful too but I've been lucky that I've gotten some commissions that'll keep me afloat for a little bit. Hopefully that will also give me some more free time.

I really *really* would like to get ILS30 - Part 2 done this week. I need to get to the halfway point of my project asap... Maybe my brain will decide to be productive in the next few days. I can only hope.

Log: 01 Aug 2023

I've made some progress since my first update! I'm mostly done with ILS30 - Part 5, I just need to animate a transition befoe and after the part. I also got the storyboards for ILS 30- Part 2 so I can start working on that as well. I decided not to participate in FRENZ this year... Working on it has made me realized that even if I finish it, it'll be a rushed job that I won't be happy with. Hopefully I will be able to participate next year!

I've been more in a writing mood lately so I decided to bring a game I was working on out of hiatus. I'm glad I solidified at least some of the characters before the hiatus because now I can kinda jump right back in? I finihed writing one of the dynamics in Japanese so I gotta translate it now.

Working from home because I don't have a car has been a bit rough. I keep getting distracted and find myself just laying on my bed doing nothing productive. I've also been overeating a lot. Not good! With a week and a half of summer left I desperately hope I can get everything I want done...

my workplace - jul 2023

Log: 24 Jul 2023

Well, welcome to the beginning. With all these social media sites going to hell, I wanted to create a website that actually provides customization. Getting started was hard but I'm glad I was able to somewhat polish this website.

I first want to start off with explaining that I'll be using a mix of English and Japanese on this site, especially in these logs since what language I feel like using just depends on the situation. Have fun with google translate yall.

Anyways, I've got exactly 3 weeks of summer left before my last year of uni starts. Luckily I've finished my capstone project early so that's 3 weeks I can pour all of my attention into personal projects. I've got some stuff I would like to finish before the break ends.

  • ILS30 - Part 2
  • ILS30 - Part 5
  • FRENZ2023

Now I can't really elaborate on what these are, at least not for a while. I can say, though, that I decided to go touch grass for once and go to a local botanical garden to get some footage for one of these projects. It was a lot of fun... I love seeing plants.

lotus flower

I am hoping to get the ILS30 - Part 5 completely done and the storyboards for FRENZ2023 done this week. Let's hope I can finish (and remember to create another log).